It’s so cheesy!


Buongiorno! (bwohn-johr-noh) Good morning!

I’ve served myself a large cup of coffee (from my French Press, of course) in preparation for today’s lesson.  Here I go, conquering one thing off my “to learn” list.  Learning lesson number one, “How to make homemade mozzarella cheese”.  I’m part Sicilian;  I feel it’s my natural birth right to know how to make creamy, fresh mozzarella.  Still, it sounds slightly intimidating, right?

Nonetheless, optimistic thoughts fill my head as I begin my research.   With coffee in hand, I go to the computer and start searching.

With simplicity, Google leads me to a ton of “cheesy” information.  So far, the cheese making process does not look that difficult.  All of the kitchen equipment needed is basic items that anyone would have at home.  As for the grocery list, 6 ingredients:  milk, rennet, citric acid, lipase powder (optional), water, and salt.  Surprisingly, I do not have the citric acid or the rennet tablets in my well stocked pantry.  Looks like I’ll have to make a trip to the store to get the missing items before I begin.   If you want to follow along with me and learn the cheese making process you can purchase rennet tablets & citric acid online, or if you live in Atlanta visit Atlanta Wine & Beer making Supplies on Roswell Road.

My trip to the supply store was a success with the help of Rick Adams who was kind enough to help me fine my missing ingredients (and a few other things I just had to have).

After a short drive home, I am back in the kitchen and ready to claim my Sicilian pride of cheese making.  I found several different recipes.  Some recipes are with lipase powder (for a stronger flavor), some without.   Today, I am making a quick 30-minute Mozzarella and I have decided to make it without lipase powder for my first attempt at cheese making.  I have provided the recipe below if you want to give it a try.

The process was easy.  I have to admit, I had a lot of fun too.  It was almost like a little science project.  Really, the entire process was very simple and in its own way, therapeutic.   Also, I’m happy to report that it really did only take 30-minutes to have about a one pound of fresh mozzarella.  The result was wonderfully creamy and smooth and I will definitely make it again.  However, next time I will add ¼ lapase powder for more flavor.

Yes, I’m thrilled with the results and for a successful day of learning something new.  The experience has built my courage to try  making other cheeses.  I’ll be marking Mozzarella off my “to learn” list, but adding a few more cheese making challenges to the ever growing list of learning.

I think that my 30-minute mozzarella cheese would be great with crusty bread and a glass of wine.  So, I’m going to say goodbye for now.  I’m pouring  two glasses of red wine and sitting down to enjoy this freshly made mozzarella with my anxiously waiting husband.

Ciao! (chou) Good-bye!

Homemade 30-minute Mozzarella Cheese:

1 ½ level teaspoon citric acid, dissolved in ½ cup cool water

1 gallon pasteurized whole milk

¼ teaspoon lipase powder (optional)

¼ teaspoon liquid rennet (or ¼ rennet tablet) diluted in ¼ cup cool, unchlorinated water

1 teaspoon cheese salt (optional)

  • Use a non-reactive pot.  I am using enamel coated.
  • Temperatures are important.  I’m using a digital candy/oil thermometer.

STEP 1 – While stirring the milk at 55° F add the citric acid solution and mix thoroughly.     If you want to use the lipase powder, add it now.   Note:  Do not use ultra pasteurized milk.

STEP 2 – Heat the milk to 90° F, stirring constantly. Remove the pot from the heat and slowly stir in the diluted rennet.  Use an up and down motion for 30 seconds.  Cover the pot and let the mixture rest for 5-10 minutes.

STEP 3 – Check the curd. It should look like custard with a clear separation between the curd and the whey. If the curd is too soft or the whey is to milky let the mixture rest for a few minutes more.  Cut the curd with a sharp knife that reaches all the way to the bottom of your pot.

STEP 4 – Place the pot back on the stove and heat the curds and whey to 105° F, gently moving the curds around with your spoon. Remove from heat and continue to stir slowly for 2 to 5 minutes.  The longer you stir, the firmer the cheese will be in the end results.

STEP 5 – Scoop out the curds with a slotted spoon or strainer and put in a 2-quart microwavable bowl.  Press the curds gently with your hands, pouring off as much of the whey as possible.  Reserve the whey.

STEP 6 – Microwave the curds on high for 1 minute. Drain the excess whey and gently fold the cheese over and over (as in kneading bread).  This distributes the heat evenly throughout the cheese.

Published by jenpiceno

Transformation Teacher & Coach, Alchemist, Shamanic Priestess, Food Revolution Ambassador for Jamie Oliver, Reiki Master & Energetic Bodyworker, Magic(k) Maker, Culinary Enthusiast, Ceremonialist, Healer, Entrepreneur, Thrill-Seeker

Leave a comment