My 7 reasons why


There are so many bloggers out there, so why am I starting mine?  Well, there are a few reasons.

First, as a mom, I think this  is a great way for me to record all of the fun (and challenging) times spent in the kitchen with my son Ayden.  I hope to look back at these posts and smile with each memory.

Secondly, as a Ambassador of Jamie Oliver’s food revolution, I have a personal goal to help inspire parents to interact and include their children in the kitchen and to enjoy good old fashion family meals (with no cell phones, tablets, etc.). There is much to learn and share within our community.  I’m a believer that “food is thy medicine” and intend to dive right into learning all I can learn and sharing with others who are willing to learn for and with their family.

Third, this project requires dedication and planning on my part. We both learn with each new discovery and I get to see things through his eyes which is amazing.  We flip through books, research on the computer (ah how we love google), shop for ingredients at ethnic and specialty stores, and of course the experience of the entire cooking process.

Fourth, is the teaching. I’m teaching him about each ingredient as we go. He’s learning simple concepts like “if it grows together is goes together”.  We talk about how things grow in trees, on bushes, or in the ground. When we cook ethnic food we talk the country and traditions. He learns through sensory play, and we smell and taste EVERYTHING (a must).  We count, use our colors and he’s learning about fractions…wish someone would have taught me this way.  The kitchen is an amazing classroom, don’t you think?

Fifth, we’re in it for the food.  This takes us out of a boring routine of eating the same quick fix meals and go to favorites. It develops an enthusiastic “let’s try that” attitude.

Sixth, creativity. Chefs might call this plating or food styling.  I love beautiful food and I want my son to appreciate the time, effort, and pride that goes into each meal.

Seventh, tradition. I hope this is passed down to his children.

Published by jenpiceno

Transformation Teacher & Coach, Alchemist, Shamanic Priestess, Food Revolution Ambassador for Jamie Oliver, Reiki Master & Energetic Bodyworker, Magic(k) Maker, Culinary Enthusiast, Ceremonialist, Healer, Entrepreneur, Thrill-Seeker

Leave a comment