Smooth as silk skin


With all of this summer heat, it’s easy to dry out your skin.  Your skin could use a little tender loving care.  Today’s “to learn” lesson should help smooth things out.

Today I am blogging about one of the many “spa treatments” that can be enjoyed in the comfort of your home.  Follow me; today you will learn how to get sexy, “smooth as silk skin”.

Cleopatra, the legendary Queen of Egypt had many secrets to her beauty and famed allure. One of her beauty treatments that is still being used today is the honey & milk bath. The bath is known to leave the skin feeling like pure silk.   I’d love for my skin to feel like pure silk, wouldn’t you?  Yes,  of course you would!  So read on.

Cleopatra’s bath has been used for centuries as one of women’s favorite beauty rituals.  Today, I will take a long soak in the famous bath as a learning experience and as my own well deserved indulgence.  I will let you know the results at the end of this blog, but first, I am going to tell you what I’ve discovered in my research.

Why it works:

  • Milk, contains lactic acid, which helps to exfoliate your skin. The lactic acid in milk is an alpha hydroxy acid, which helps to deeply cleanse the layers of your skin.
  • Honey is a humectant, which means it will attract moisture and help retain it.  Since it is composed of sugars such as glucose and fructose it is another star player as an alpha hydroxy acid (further exfoliating your skin). Honey also nourishes and heals the skin with its natural minerals and vitamins. Plus, it’s an anti-irritant and an anti-bacterial that kills some viruses, bacteria, and fungus.

The effect it has on your skin:  Basically, it means bathing in milk and honey results in sexy, soft skin that feels silky to touch.

My personal resultsThe results were fantastic!  After soaking for 30 minutes in the milk & honey bath (bath #1), I can honestly say that my skin really feels like soft luxurious silk.  Not only does my skin feel silky, it also looks more radiant, healthy, and hydrated.

I am sharing my bath recipes below.  These are of my versions of the royal honey & milk bath.  History lessons report that Cleopatra filled her elegant bath tub with camel milk to maintain her notoriously supple skin.  Since camel milk is not available, I use cow’s milk in my recipes .  I  also added Jojoba oil and almond oil to give my skin a little extra help.  The nourishing benefits should encourage my skin to stay healthy.  This will further promote the appearance of youthful skin.  Here’s why I chose to add Jojoba oil and almond oil:

  • I added the Jojoba oil because it’s known as the best affinity to human skin and it is a superior skin moisturizer that helps restore elasticity and smoothness. In my opinion, it’s a good choice for promoting youthful skin and a clear complexion.
  • I’ve added almond oil because it is an excellent moisturizer.  It nourishes and softens the skin which helps keep skin smooth to the touch.  Remember, “Smooth as silk skin” is what I want.  I was further convinced to use almond oil when I read that almond oil is similar in composition to the oil baby’s excrete to keep their skin and hair healthy.  This composition is beneficial to protecting and conditioning your skin (no matter what age you are).

The first bath recipe is my favorite, which uses fresh milk.  Maybe it’s a chef thing, but I always prefer fresh (even when it comes to beauty).  The second option is perfect to make ahead and keep stored in your bathroom in a glass jar so you have it ready to spoil yourself after a long day.  It also makes a nice gift for a special friend.


BATH #1    Freshly Made Honey & Milk Bath

This recipe makes enough for one bath.

3          cups                 whole milk
½         cup                  powdered Milk
½         cup                  Raw Honey
2          teaspoons     organic Jojoba Oil (optional)
1          teaspoon       almond oil (optional)

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients.  Pour the mixture into your warm bath. Soak for a minimum of 20 minutes.  This will introduce these beneficial ingredients to your skin and allow you skin to absorb the moisture it needs while exfoliating unwanted dead, dry skin.   I like to turn on my favorite music and soak for 30 minutes for soft and silky skin.

 

BATH #2     Honey & Powdered  Milk Bath

Combine the ingredients below in a large bowl and then transfer the mixture to a decorative jar to keep in your bathroom.  You can simply scoop out a few cups of it and dissolve in your warm bath anytime you want to spoil yourself with a relaxing royal skin softening treatment.

½         cup                  raw honey
3          cups                 powdered milk
2          teaspoons     organic Jojoba Oil (optional)
1          teaspoon        almond oil (optional)

Published by jenpiceno

Transformation Teacher & Coach, Alchemist, Shamanic Priestess, Food Revolution Ambassador for Jamie Oliver, Reiki Master & Energetic Bodyworker, Magic(k) Maker, Culinary Enthusiast, Ceremonialist, Healer, Entrepreneur, Thrill-Seeker

Leave a comment