Is that Sinatra? Turn it up!


“The dance is one of the many human experiences which cannot be suppressed. Dancing has existed at all times, and among all peoples and races. The dance is a form of expression given to man just as speech, philosophy, painting or music.”

For those of you following my blogs, you know that I have a “to learn” list which was published in my blog titled “Just admit it, you don’t know everything”.

Dancing Foxtrot at a competitive level is on the list.  So, after a nice talk with Jorge Morales last night at Taverna Plaka, I’m ready to get started with ballroom again.  We start this Wednesday!

I feel inspired and anxious to dance Foxtrot to Frank Sinatra, Billie Holiday, Nat King Cole, and Dinah Shore with the signature style of Ginger Rogers.

As quoted by Ginger herself,  “The only way to enjoy anything in this life is to earn it first”.  So today, I’m studying footage of todays best known ballroom dancers (thank goodness for YouTube).  I want to understand the competitive side of ballroom dancing.  As I view the dancers, I will be studying details such as:

  • Footwork
  • Rise & Fall
  • Contra-Body Movement
  • Sway
  • Continuity

Follow me, and read all about my new adventure on the dance floor as I accept this new challenge.

Published by jenpiceno

Transformation Teacher & Coach, Alchemist, Shamanic Priestess, Food Revolution Ambassador for Jamie Oliver, Reiki Master & Energetic Bodyworker, Magic(k) Maker, Culinary Enthusiast, Ceremonialist, Healer, Entrepreneur, Thrill-Seeker

Leave a comment